Log in



The National Montford Point Marine Association, Inc Hall Of Fame is the embodiment which recognizes and honor those who have demonstrated their commitment in the promotion and advancement of the organization; through community volunteerism and programs that promote the history and legacy of the Montford Point Marines.

Rev. James Moore

As Beaufort Chapter Chaplain, Reverend Moore has served in this capacity in an outstanding manner providing spiritual and common sense leadership to the Chapter Presidents and National Officers. Often the first person called or contacted when a member is in distressed or has passed, Reverend Moore quickly goes into action contacting the families and on many occasions, making personal visits to comfort an aggrieved or family member.

When the National Chaplain of the Association could no longer serve in his capacity, Reverend Moore was appointed by then National President Sam Saxton to spiritually administer to the National body. In the capacity, Reverend Moore has fined tuned the very sobering remembrance ceremony at our National Conventions by coordinating with both the ceremonial and convention directors to ensure a proper and solemn ceremony is conducted at the National Awards Banquet. Reverend Moore has since served as the National Chaplain for five National Presidents, often taking the lead at National Conventions to motivate and guide the members through difficult procedures. Reverend Moore remembers vividly when there was much turmoil within our Association and he has worked feverishly to ensure that we never return to those times.

Often sought out by previous National Presidents to mediate minor disputes and misunderstandings within the Association, Reverend Moore always brings a common sense solution to any issue brought his way. It is because of his impeccable reputation that Reverend Moore easily gains the attention of all he ministers to.

Fittingly, it was Reverend Moore who gave the dedication prayer at the opening ceremonies of the National Montford Point Monument in Jacksonville, North Carolina in 2016. His inspiring message resonated with all in attendance, particularly the 45 or so Original Montford Pointers who have known of his special leadership for more than two decades.

Because of his commitment to service, Rev. James Moore was inducted in the NMPMA Hall of Fame.

John Tate

John Tate has managed Camp LeJeune Chapter #10’s financial affairs for over 15 years.  He has been subject to audit by an independent body and has been financially sound. He spends long hours ensuring all statements are correct and accounted for. He reviews our budget, account for expenditure, and ensures all of our financially commitments are met. Mr. Tate is dedicated, loyal and driven to do the job right the first time. Mr. Tate served his county for over 30 years and was promoted to the highest rank possible in the Marines enlisted rank. During all those years he developed exceptional leadership skills which benefits this organization. He understands the importance of maintaining the Legacy of the Montford Point Marine. He himself was honored to meet some of them. When we are called on to preform Honors for our fallen, he is one of the first to say I will do it.

In addition to his job as Financial Secretary he also maintains accountability for donations for the National Monument Fund. He was very instrumental in fundraisers and events designed to help build the Monument. He used his initiative to learn a new program designed to make what we do more transparent and easier to deal with the IRS at tax time. Mr. Tate worked closely with the architect, Mr. Shinal and the general contractor as they developed the drawing for what became the Bronze Statue. He traveled to the storage site of the Gun to inspect its soundness preserve status and was instrumental in the transporting of it to its final resting place.

Because of his commitment to service, John Tate was inducted in the NMPMA Hall of Fame.

2018 Recipients

Dave Culmer

Carrell Reavis

2017 Recipients

Eugene Groves

Sylvester Howard

Richard Walker

Vaughn M. Whitworth

2016 Recipients

James Carr

Houston T. Shinal

Lee Douglas, Jr.

James T. Averhart, Jr.

John W. Jones, Jr.

LtGen. (Ret) Ronald L. Bailey

Clarence Davis

Francis M. Hooper, Jr.

2015 Recipients

SgtMaj. Melvin O. Chestnut

Hon Theodore R. Britton

2014 Recipients

Phil Herout

2013 Recipients

Finney Greggs

Anthony Chestang

2012 Recipients

Gen. (Ret) James F. Amos

Sen. Kay Hagan (NC)

Hon. Corrine Brown (FL)

Hon. Anthony C. Hill (FL)

MSgt. James Carter

1stSgt. George Kidd

Capt. Eddie Q. Hicks

Paul Hagan

2011 Recipients

Regina B. Lawrence

SSgt. L.E. Mike Johnson

Noddie L. Gayles

James E. Stewart, Jr.

Aaron Cunningham

Luther T. Dixon

William Hill

Sterling E. Gilliam

2010 Recipients

MGySgt Robert E. Reid

MGySgt Nathaniel R. Hosea

MGySgt Joseph H. Geeter, III

Aaron German

David C. Jackson

Berthond B. Potts

2009 Recipients

David Fortune

Charles Vernon

1stSgt. George O. Herring

Clarence Broussard, Sr.

Jesse Hampton

Louis Gossett, Jr.

MGySgt. Gilbert T. Taylor

Rev. Steven King, Jr.

2008 Recipients

Alexandria Johnson

LtGen. Ronald S. Coleman

MGen. Walter E. Gaskin

John O. Tilghman

William E. Washington

Charles Stallard

SgtMaj. Agustus Willis

2007 Recipients

Thomas Cork, Sr.

Raymond Murry

Averitte W. Coley

Lancaster W. Price

Albert Jackson

SgtMaj. Nathaniel W. James, Jr.

SSgt. Lasalle R. Vaughn, Sr.

2006 Recipients

GySgt. John Clouser

George Taylor

James Jackson

Kenneth Rollock

John W. Hagan

Herman Darden

2005 Recipients

LtCol. Joseph Carpenter

Norman Payne

Joseph Davis

SgtMaj. Johnny Washington

Wendell R. Ferguson

John Vanoy

Harry Hamilton

John T. Covington

O'ther Givens

2004 Recipients

LtCol. Demetrious Bellizare

William J. Foreman, Sr.

Leo Taylor

McFall C. Gourdine

2003 Recipients

MGen. Leo V. Williams

Robert C. Garrett

Rev. Norflette Mersier

Jerome B. Milburn

LtCol. Eric M. Lindsay

2002 Recipients

Capt. James A. Fairfax (USN)

Capt. Thomas McPhatter, D.D. (USN)

1stSgt. Barnett Person

James E. Stewart

SgtMaj. Ralph G. Balara

2001 Recipients

SgtMaj. James McCargo

Capt. Samuel Saxton

Dr. Herman Rhett

Mortimer A. Cox

Col. Gilda Jackson

Capt. Joe Myers

Helen Peters

PFC Robert H. Jenkins

PFC Oscar H. Austin

Sgt. Rodney M. Davis

PFC. Ralph H. Johnson

MSgt. Russell W. Curtis

PFC James A. Anderson

2000 Recipients

Henry Baul

Gen. Raymond Davis

Hon. David Dinkins

Gene Doughty

James A. Edwards

1stSgt. Jack McDowell

GySgt Reuben McNair

SgtMaj. Agrippa W. Smith

MGen. Clifford Stanley

Wanda Welch

Norman Sneed

Albert Powers

Garfield James

James Hart

John Green


Henry H. Anderson

MGySgt. Brooks Gray

MSgt. Ivin Baker

CWO Annie Grimes

MGen. Charles Bolden

SgtMAj. Edgar R. Huff

Capt. Frederick C. Branch

SgtMaj. Gilbert H. Johnson

Jimmy Carter

Hon James E. Johnson

Alexander Chappell

SgtMaj. Cecil B. Moore

MGen. Gary Cooper

LtGen. Frank Peterson

Richard Dalton

L. Steven Robinson

Leroy A. Dandridge

SgtMaj. Louis Roundtree

Hon Fred Davidson, III

Norman Triplett

Arthur F. Early

Capt. Bobby Troup

James A. France

Col. Samuel A. Woods, Jr.

NMPMA┬« Inc is a 501 (c) 3 non-profit organization.  P.O. Box 711, Quantico, VA 22134.

Neither the United States Marine Corps nor any other component of the Department of Defense has approved, endorsed, or authorized this activity.

Preserving the Legacy of the Montford Point Marine

NMPMA ® is a registered trademark with the United States Patent and Trademark Office

Email Us



P.O. Box 163

Jacksonville,  NC 28541

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software